RSS

Renovation World Con – Day 1

19 Aug

Renovation World Con – Day 1, Wednesday August 17, 2011

Okay, so I’m not posting this on Day 1, but I’ve just been too busy and too tired. There is so much to do. Reno in August is hot and dry. It agrees with me.

When I arrived after my flight, my room wasn’t ready so I headed over to the Convention Center to register. I’m glad I did because I was also able to sign up for a Kaffee Klatch with Asimov’s editor, Sheila Williams. The Klatches can only be registered a half day ahead, so I was lucky to get in early. (More about this later.)

After registering and receiving my badge and ‘personal hydration device’ (water bottle with con logo) I went to an interview with Aliette de Bodard. It was very interesting and she was fun to listen to. Both she and the interviewer, Christopher Kastensmidt, are on an online writer’s forum that I am also on and it was nice to meet them in person and chat afterwords.

Then I had a convention hot dog and wandered the dealer’s room for a bit. Below are some pictures of displays there. On an impulse, I bought a hat with a wide brim and a cool swoop in the front. The art show is also quite good. I placed a bid on a steampunk locket. I’ll find out Sunday if I get it.

I also ran into Heather Muir, a friend from OSC’s Boot Camp. We’ve been crossing paths and chatting throughout the convention. That’s what these things are all about – connections. It’s been nice seeing her again. We got to compare notes on what we’ve been up to in the last year.

After going back to the hotel, I found my room was ready. It’s very nice. One of the fanciest I’ve stayed in. I only say ‘one of’ because we had some pretty fancy rooms in China (for a lot less money, of course).

Then I went back to the Convention Center for the filk jam. I had heard a very good example of filk on the Writing Excuses podcast a couple of weeks ago and wanted to check it out. There were some good musicians by the time the room filled. I especially enjoyed the harpist. There was a wide variety of styles and skill levels. Their energy and the enthusiasm were great, even if sometimes the music was a little rough around the edges. If I had one criticism, I’d say that a lot of the songs went on a little too long.

Finally, exhausted, I went back to the hotel and collapsed into bed around 1am. I thought about doing this blog post, but was afraid it would come out gibberish. So far, so good. Every day is busier than the last. Now I’m off to breakfast.

 

12 responses to “Renovation World Con – Day 1

  1. justinawilliams

    August 19, 2011 at 8:54 am

    Ooo it’s too bad I didn’t know Aliette was going to be there, I’d have asked you to say hi for me. That’s awesome that you got to meet her, the world’s greatest little French/Vietnamese speculative fiction writer.

    I want a picture of you and your new hat.

    Is Nevada much like Utah was, or more hospitable?

     
    • Trina Marie Phillips

      August 22, 2011 at 6:28 am

      The people here are nice, but they’re used to tourists so it’s been congenial all around. Other than that i haven’t gotten a feel for the place. It’s been all con, all the time.

       
  2. Richard Flores IV

    August 19, 2011 at 10:11 am

    So jealous of you. I am glad it is a good time. Maybe if I plan far enough ahead I will get to Chicago for next years. At least this year I will live through you. 🙂

     
    • Trina Marie Phillips

      August 20, 2011 at 12:12 am

      I will go into more details in subsequent posts, but if you can possibly make it, it will be money well spent. You can’t imagine how much I’ve learned and the people I’ve met. I mean, I’ve met top people in the industry and stood around just talking. It is really incredible how accessible everyone is.

      I will recommend this event to everyone.

       
  3. Wolf

    August 19, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    Glad to hear that you got into Kaffee Klatch with Sheila Williams. Looking forward to hearing more about that!
    Good luck with the locket, hope you get it on Sunday!

     
    • Trina Marie Phillips

      August 20, 2011 at 12:17 am

      I not only got into the Kaffee Klatch, I managed an invite to the SFWA party tonight that she and Stan Schmidt were putting on (for Dell Magazines). I have never been in a room filled with that much…power and influence. Everyone was very nice. I’ll post more about that later.

       
  4. Lee Hallison

    August 19, 2011 at 1:26 pm

    Thanks – been thinking about Chicago, so hearing all the small details (I’ve never been to a world-con) is great. Have a wonderful time, hope you have the energy to keep posting!

     
    • Trina Marie Phillips

      August 22, 2011 at 6:22 am

      I’ll have to finish my posts after I get home. But I will finish them as promptly as I can manage.

       
  5. Foste

    August 19, 2011 at 1:34 pm

    How was the convention hot dog? 🙂

     
    • Trina Marie Phillips

      August 20, 2011 at 12:19 am

      The hot dog was passable, the tacos were a mistake. A big mistake. The burger and fries offered some redemption.

      I wouldn’t be eating at the con so much, but the walk to food isn’t small, and I usually only have an hour break at a time between panels I want to see.

       
  6. Jared A

    August 20, 2011 at 1:26 pm

    I wish I was there!!

     
  7. Trina Marie Phillips

    August 20, 2011 at 4:02 pm

    Maybe next year, Jared. It’s going to be in Chicago. Maybe if you start saving now…

    I’m trying to get subsequent posts done, but there just isn’t a lot of time and there’s tons to tell you. Soon, hopefully.

     

Leave a Reply

 
